Rural Chinese diet

When I had all those blood tests done in October last year, my doctor recommended a bunch of different things based on my results and what he wanted me to improve. One of the things he recommended was that I take up a “rural Chinese diet”. I had heard of Atkins, South Beach, cabbage soup and various other diets, but never this one. I went home and researched it and though what I read about was quite interesting, I never really committed to it. Now that I’m more in control of my diet and dedicated to obtaining optimal health, I think it’s time to revisit this idea.

Some facts:
- The average daily fibre intake of the average Chinese is 3 times that of the average American.
- The average Chinese get 6-24% of their daily calories from fat. The average American gets 39% and the average Briton 45%
- Chinese eat more calories per pound of body weight than Americans, but suffer less obesity.

In general, the rural Chinese eat mainly grains, legumes and vegetables. Meat is used sparingly, mainly to flavour dishes, as they cannot afford large amounts. Unprocessed rice is a staple.

It makes sense. If you had to live off that land and whatever you could find, grow or kill, what would you eat? If you couldn’t just pop out to a store and grab something when you’re hungry? And when you think about it that way, you realize that is how you are supposed to eat. That’s how your body is designed to be nourished. And it makes sense.

When I think about it, I slowly started adopting this diet after seeing my doctor last year, but have really followed it more closely since starting this blog. I’m eating almonds and soya nuts, fresh fruits and usually a good serving of veggies with dinner, at least. I rarely eat much dairy, excluding natural unsweetened yogurt, which I usually have with toasted muesli (oats and dried fruits). Meat is usually just included at dinner and is more often than not chicken breast. Refined sugar and alcohol are basically non-existent in my diet. As are processed foods.

How have we strayed so far from the diets we were meant to eat? When did we stop listening to our bodies and what they were telling us about what we’re consuming? When did we decide mass produced food is the better option to naturally grown produce? Why haven’t we realized that we are not eating the things our bodies need – that, in fact, we’re eating things that are damaging us?

2 Comments

Filed under Diet

2 responses to “Rural Chinese diet

  1. Seems like many other countries eat better than us. Japan is another one.

    • Mmm Japanese food. I absolutely adore good sushi! And their picked vegetables/salads. Sad that even places with such great, healthy foods are slowly “westernizing” and adding more fast foods, fats and sugars to their diets!

Leave a Reply

