Recipes galore

A problem I seem to keep falling into is eating the same thing over and over again – and getting absolutely sick of it. It’s great to have those 4 or 5 meals that are yummy, quick and easy to whip up with little thought or fancy ingredients, but I find I start to only make those meals and after a couple of weeks, I can’t bear the thought of eating another one of “those” meals.

Today I decided that I was going to do something about that. Instead of going out and spending a heap of money on new cookbooks with fancy photos and witty titles, I hit the internet to scope out some great (free!) recipes and found http://recipes.prevention.com.

What’s great about that site is that you can search by type of meal, key ingredient or dietary need. I searched “Gluten Free”, “Low G.I.” and “Low Calorie” and ended up with almost 2,000 results. Now, be careful because a lot of things aren’t necessarily what they say they are. (I’ve found multiple recipes listed as “gluten free” that contain pasta or breads!) All in all, though, it’s a really great resource. I’ve been copy-pasting recipes I like into a Word document and am up to 26 pages of scrumptious new recipes I can’t wait to try out. And I’ll try to remember to post my favourite and most successful recipes up here, as well. (Possibly with photos – if I’m feeling really ambitious!)

Keeping things new and fresh and exciting is key to sticking with them, I think. And I’m hoping a regular stream of new foods and recipes to try out will do just that to the diet* side of my journey.

*Diet as in what I eat, not so much in the dreaded “salad and steamed fish only!”, calorie-reduced, fat/sugar/carb/taste-free version of the word.

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “Recipes galore

  1. I do exactly the same thing I look up recipes and if they seem great I copy and paste them into word too. I then rate them as I make them and anything that is 8 out 10 I give another go and tweak it to my own tastes. I love it.

    • It’s a great way to add some variety to meals while still cooking at home.
      I do the same thing, too. Make it exactly to the recipe the first time round and if I like it, keep the recipe but tweak here and there next time I make it. I find it also helps make grocery shopping easier, too. I can look through my recipes, choose a bunch that I might want that week and pick up what I need for each. Often ingredients overlap and I don’t actually have to buy all that much stuff to be prepared for a few different meals.

Leave a Reply

