Green Tea

I’m not a coffee person. Never have been, probably never will be. I made it through University (including traveling 1.5 hours by public transit each way to/from classes!) without ever needing a morning coffee to get going. I figure there’s no need to start now. I guess I just never wanted to get to that point where I absolutely needed something to wake up.

Now, I’ll have a flat white or mochaccino once every few weeks. It’s generally just when out for brunch Sunday morning or while meeting up with friends for an afternoon catch-up. It’s more as a little treat – and I still often feel a little jittery if I drink it too quickly or if I haven’t eaten enough prior.

With all that said, though, I’m absolutely in love with green tea. Not as a morning pick-me-up, but as a soothing, warming, delicious drink that I can drink all day long. And I’ve recently re-found my love of it after reading some articles on how beneficial it can be.

Some of the benefits that have been found include:
– Treatment for MS, cancer, Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s diseases.
– Raising metabolism and increasing fat oxidation
– Reducing the level of cholesterol in the blood
– Preventing tooth decay (it kills bacteria in the mouth that causes plaque)
– Improving immune function

The fact that there are multiple studies proving green tea can be beneficial towards weight loss is good enough for me! (Though all the other benefits are great, too).

Thankfully, my office has a constant supply of a selection of teas, including green tea. Every morning when I get into work, I make myself a teapot full of green tea – about 4-5 cups worth – and sip on it throughout the day, occasionally adding a little extra hot water to warm it up later in the day. I also try to drink at least 2 glasses of water, as well. Granted, this means I’m taking multiple washroom breaks throughout the day, but I think the benefits far outweigh the inconveniences. (Plus getting up for the washroom means I’m getting up from my desk and walking around – even if just for a minute!)

6 Comments

Filed under Diet

6 responses to “Green Tea

  1. I never was a tea drinker until this year when I started drinking it to stop snacking. But I was drinking the flavored ones, like cookie and chai. My husband drinks green every morning and I kept saying I should change because of all those amazing reasons you listed. But yuck. Have you tried white tea? I think it is supposed to be good for you as well.

    • I haven’t tried white tea yet. In general, green tea’s the only one I’ve really found that I like. (Lucky me!) Try green tea with jasmine. It’s less bitter than regular green tea and still has all the benefits. Or try steeping it for less time so the flavour isn’t as strong.

  2. I had forgotten how much I love tea! I like black and green too. I’m going to have to add it back into my daily habits once this heat cools down! I am also not a coffee drinker. I never liked it!

    • It’s midwinter here in New Zealand, so it’s the perfect time to get into the habit of drinking tea again. Great for my health and a nice way to warm up after a chilly walk into the office! I’ll probably have less when summer rolls around, but I’ve got at least a few months before then.

  3. I love green tea as well, although my company does not provide this, but that’s cool I just keep it in my drawer and make myself a couple of cups throughout the day. I never thought I would be a tea drinker as I was never a black tea or a coffee drinker either. I always have a cup after lunch and while everyone is still snacking I feel full and satisfied. Good post.

    • I’m lucky that I work for a relatively small company – and that I’m in charge of ordering both stationery and kitchen supplies! I figure if I have to make sure there’s always chocolate biscuits around the office, I can also make sure there’s always some green tea around. 🙂
      It definitely helps curb cravings and prevents overeating. The small amounts of caffeine are also good for getting the metabolism going, too.

Leave a Reply

