Feeling good

I just realized today is Day 10 of this journey. Ok, I know that’s really not any sort of huge milestone for just about anyone, but to me it seems like an accomplishment.That’s 10 days in a row I haven’t had any sort of sugary treat. 10 days I haven’t had a takeaway or ate a meal that probably could have fed 2 people. Sure, I haven’t been doing an hour of exercise every day. And, no, I haven’t been weighing and counting the calories of everything that passes by my lips, but I’ve been doing well.

I think cutting back on sugar and desserts has been a huge accomplishment. I’m a desserts person. I grew up always having some sort of dessert after dinner. In general, I feel like dinner isn’t complete unless I have something sweet at the end – even if I’m already absolutely stuffed. 10 days later, I don’t crave it anymore. I’ve had a nectarine or some pineapple slices after a couple meals, but I’ve really overcome that sugar addiction. (My doctor will be very impressed – and probably a little shocked!)

10 days in and sugar isn’t in control anymore. The bowl of mini Toblerones my boss brought into the office? They can just sit there and get eaten by everyone else. They don’t seem appealing anymore. I know if I ate them, they would probably taste too sweet, give me a headache, and cause an energy sugar-crash in about an hour. What’s the point?

All in all, I’m feeling good. Great, even. I don’t feel as bloated or weighed down. I’m sure my weight is basically the same as before I started and my clothes are all still fitting the same, but that’s ok. I want to FEEL better. Looks, weight and inches will all just be a welcome by-product. And I am feeling better. Lighter. Slightly more energetic and just less sluggish.

Hopefully I’ll keep on this track. Keep feeling better and better. Keep making healthier food choices and keep adding that little bit of exercise into my daily routine. I have a feeling it’ll lead me to wanting to work out, wanting to join a gym and wanting to take it to that next level.

6 Comments

Filed under Diet

6 responses to “Feeling good

  1. Good for you! And it is all documented here – so if you waver, you can come read these words and remember how great you feel NOT eating the sugar:)

    • Thank you! πŸ™‚
      That was the original plan for this blog – keep it honest and updated regularly and hope it’ll keep me on track and motivated. Seems to be working! And I’ll definitely check back in anytime I’m feeling a craving or thinking about eating a bunch of junk. Hopefully reading old posts will knock me back on track.

  2. It’s so true! The little changes add up to big changes! I think 10 sugar free days is absolutely great!!!

    • Thank you!
      Though, I suppose, it’s not really 10 days “sugar free”. I’ve had jam or honey on rice cakes, lots of fruits and things like sauces with some sugar in them… But I’ve yet to have a cookie, chocolate bar, ice cream, etc etc. I’ve at least managed to avoid things where sugar is the main ingredient. πŸ™‚

  3. Just found your blog. LOVE it! High five on cutting out the sugar and leading a healthy life. Healthy choices add up to lots of feeling good and happiness! I wish you the best and looking forward to reading about your journey!

    Kelly
    Journey to a New Me
    http://www.anewmejourney.blogspot.com

    • Thanks so much. πŸ™‚
      It’s funny, I’ve tried dieting and cutting sugars and all sorts of things so many times in the past and they’ve never stuck. I think taking it a little slower – and trying to focus on making healthy choices, not just losing weight – along with blogging about it will help keep me on track longterm this time. πŸ™‚
      Keeping in touch with people who have similar goals helps loads, too!

Leave a Reply

