Chicken Milano

Last night I made a really delicious “Chicken Milano”. Andrew wasn’t a huge fan, but I really enjoyed it. I think because I’m gluten-free I generally avoid Italian food – too much pizza and pasta and breads and things I can’t eat. This recipe reminded me of really great pasta sauce, which is why I think I liked it so much. The flavours are just so different from my usual Asian-inspired meals.

Chicken Milano
– 1 chicken breast
– 1 medium onion
– 1/2 cup zucchini
– 1/2 cup mushroom
– 1/2 cup broccoli
– 1/2 cup snow peas
– 1/2 cup spinach
(all ingredients above cut into bite-sized pieces)
– 1 tsp crushed garlic
– 1 can tomato soup
– basil, oregano, salt & pepper (to taste)
– 1 tsp oil

1. Heat oil in large frying pan.  Add chicken and cook until chicken is no longer pink. Set chicken aside.
2. Add veggies, garlic and soup to the frying pan. Bring to a boil, then immediately lower heat, cover and simmer for about 15 minutes or until veggies are cooked to your liking.
3. Add the cooked chicken and spices. Heat through (about 2 minutes).
4. Serve over rice.

What I love about this recipe is that it’s a great “fridge leftovers” recipe. The veggies can really be just about anything you’ve got kicking around your fridge and the tomato soup and spices are the predominant flavours. It also made a HUGE amount of food – enough for dinner for Andrew and me last night, lunch for me today and another serving (possibly lunch tomorrow). Plus it’s filling and loaded with veggies. How can you go wrong?

Have you found a recipe recently that you love?

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “Chicken Milano

  1. That looks super tasty! Thanks for sharing. I like recipes that include spinach because I rarely eat it and I know it’s good for you!

    • I’m the same way. I know spinach is great for me, but barely ever have it. I’m trying to find more recipes that either have spinach in them or I can add spinach too without really altering the taste.
      Will post more when I find some more good ones!

Leave a Reply

