Weekend Breaks

I tend to take weekends as breaks. A break from work, of course, but also a bit of a break from my routine and diet. That’s not to say I pig out on junk food and lie on the couch all weekend, but my diet and exercise is different on weekends than during the week.

Monday to Friday I sit at a desk for most of the day. Yes I try to walk to/from the post office every day to get at least 40 minutes of walking in and yes I try to do little things here and there to get myself off of my chair and moving around but I think having the desk is helpful, too. Weekdays I drink at least 2 glasses of water and 4-5 cups of green tea throughout the day. I have healthy food in my desk and in the fridge and I eat 3-4 small meals over the course of the day. I blog and I look for new healthy recipes to try. I read about other people’s progress on their journey to a more healthy lifestyle and it helps motivate me.

Weekends are the time I take a break from all that. I still try to make healthy choices, but I don’t know exactly what I’ll be eating around what time of the day. I don’t usually have any green tea and I’ll have a glass or two of water when I think about it. I usually eat slightly bigger meals but less often. And I’ll usually do laundry, go grocery shopping, and tidy up around the house instead of walking to/from the office.

I’m not going to feel bad about it, though. Why should I? I’m not going out on booze-filled binges and eating every meal out of a fast food take-away container. Sure I might have a couple pieces of chicken bacon with breakfast one morning, but I don’t think that’s a bad thing. Everything considered, I’m still making healthy choices overall and getting some exercise in. Plus I’m enjoying the time I have to spend with my boyfriend without worrying about how I’m going to managed to drink enough green tea while we’re out (or finding a washroom every half hour!)

Weekends are the little breaks that I think will keep me on this track longterm. They give me time to step back from my weekday routine and mix it up a bit while still providing lots of opportunities to prove I’m making a lifestyle change. ex: Saturday night was spent at the pub watching a rugby match. Over the 3 hours we were there with friends, I had 2 glasses of ice water and half a small bowl of fries – no ketchup. I think that’s pretty good!

They also make me look forward to the week, in a way. I look forward to my walks and to my green tea and my rice cake snacks, the same way I look forward to a little break on the weekends. It’s all about balance and variety!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

