Supplements

In an ideal world, what you eat throughout the day would provide an ideal amount of vitamins and minerals your body needs to maintain optimal health. And, I suppose, if I had a dietician and personal chef choosing, preparing and serving me every bit of food I eat throughout the day, that might be true. But I don’t.

And the fact that my body isn’t fantastic at absorbing the nutrients I do eat every day (thanks gluten-intolerance mucking up my intestines!) I can’t assume I’m getting all the nutrients I need just through diet. Factor in that I don’t eat anything with wheat, rye or barley. And my doctor told me to minimize the amount of red meats and dairy I consume. Kinda leaves my diet slightly lacking…

So I’ve decided I’m going to start taking some supplements. I don’t want to take a multivitamin and try to cram everything in all at once. 1: because I don’t think I actually need every single supplement included in multivitamins. 2: because the main vitamins/minerals I want to make sure I’m getting enough of actually prevent proper absorption of each other.

Starting today, I’m going to trial taking 2 different supplements. The first is Vitamin D3; 1000IU tablet once a day. My doctor mentioned my vitamin D was on the lower end of normal with my last blood test and since it’s winter and I’m getting absolute minimal sun exposure, I’m not getting any vitamin D naturally!

The second is Thyro Guard. It’s marketed as a “multi-nutrient thyroid support formula”. Though all my blood tests have always come back as having normal TSH levels, I’ve always questioned my thyroid function:

  • I’m easily fatigued, despite getting a solid 8 hours sleep a night
  • My hair is dry and thinning
  • My skin is dry
  • I have puffiness around my eyes and face
  • I have difficulty concentrating
  • My sex drive is lower than it should be
  • I get sick frequently (currently battling cold #2 in as many weeks)
  • My eyes feel sensitive to light

Many of those symptoms can be related to so many other causes, I know, but there are enough of them that I really do question whether I have an underlying thyroid issue. (TSH is not always accurate, but my doctor won’t test my T3 and T4 since the TSH isn’t abnormal).

Anyway, so supplement #2 is Thyro Guard which contains Magnesium, potassium, B6, B2, B1, B12, iodine, copper, manganese, zinc, calcium and vit C. I have to see when the best time to take each supplement is and then I’m going to take one of each every day, religiously, until they are finished or I feel any negative effects and then reevaluate once the trial is over.

Do you take any supplements? Why or why not? Have you found them to make any significant difference?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

