Week 5

I’ve got 4 weeks under my now looser-fitting belt. I will do a weigh in and take measurements on Thursday Aug 5, at the official “1 month” point. Since I don’t have heaps of weight or inches to lose, I figure doing it any more than once a month is a little silly – and would probably leave me disappointed and discouraged.

Though, I suppose I should talk about my goals. That is, being able to touch my toes and doing 5 pushups by August 1st (yesterday).

Yeah, about those. Um. Pass?

Ultimately, I want to be able to do this.

I think I might have been a little ambitious with those. Sure, it’s probably possible to have achieved those goals within that timeframe, but it would’ve taken far more commitment and training than I actually did. I have been trying to stretch my hamstrings for at least a few minutes each night before bed. I think it’s going to take more than that – and for a longer stretch of time – to significantly improve my flexibility, though. I’m fine with that… it’ll stay as something I’m actively working on.

Push-ups are another story. I’ve been completely slack with those! I’m hoping when I actually start going to a gym regularly, I’ll improve my
strength overall.
Which leads me to the gym… I was supposed to go check it out over the weekend. That didn’t happen for two reasons:

  1. I haven’t sold my Wii yet and the money from that is going to pay my membership.
  2. Andrew was still getting over his chest infection. I know that doesn’t specifically involve me, but I really want Andrew to join with me so I have a workout partner and more motivation to go. I also know Andrew’s not going to be talked into joining any gym when he’s sick and miserable and I didn’t want to go alone and then go back a second time with him and deal with the sales pitch etc twice. He’s promised to come with me next weekend.

A little stall there. Ah well. I kept researching gyms in the area and this one still seems like the best deal in the best location with the best classes, etc. I need to subtly talk it up to Andrew over the upcoming week. Subconsciously get it into his head that he really wants to join, too…

4 Comments

Filed under Goals

4 responses to “Week 5

  1. A month already! Now about that gym…

    • I know!
      It’s funny, I find myself wanting to go work out when I’m just at home with not much to do. I think it’ll be easy to get into once I’m signed up… Will do it this weekend. No excuses. 🙂

  2. I love that you’re only weighing yourself monthly. I am trying to figure out how often to weigh myself… because when I do it weekly I always seem disappointed. Lame.

    • I want to keep myself in the mentality that I’m doing this to get healthier/fitter, not specifically to lose weight. I think not weighing myself often and focusing more on what I’m eating and how I’m feeling helps keep that mindframe. Monthly measurements/weigh ins seem to make sense to me. Long enough to (hopefully!) see at least small results without being something I’m always thinking about. I weighed myself daily for a while (when I used Wii Fit daily) and I would get frustrated and upset with the variations – even if I knew it was just water weigh or whatever. Keeping the scales and measuring tape away most of the time will hopefully keep me focused on the health part of this!

Leave a Reply

