Hills and pancakes

This morning I finally woke up feeling a little closer to normal and far less like the stay puff marshmallow man. Hooray! Thank you copious amounts of water, lots of walking and stabilizing hormones.

The "hilly" route

And while I still haven’t been to the gym (I know, I know!) I’ve been trying to sneak a little extra exercise in while I can. I’ve been getting up earlier in the morning since I’ll be starting at 8:30 instead of 9 with my new job, and have been taking different routes to/from work. My favourite covers 3 km and takes about 45 minutes. It’s longer, but has almost no hills. The quickest route is about 1 km with almost constant hills. This morning, I did the 2 km “some hills but mostly flat” walk. It’s nice to have the choice and knowing that I can’t really “get off easy” with any of them. If I want a shorter/quicker walk, I’ve gotta do the hills. If I want to avoid the hills, I have to walk almost 3 times as far.

Waking up a little earlier also gives me a little more time to enjoy breakfast. This morning I made amazingly yummy oatmeal “pancakes”. They are super easy, fast and so good.

  • Mix 1/4 cup of instant oatmeal with 2 egg whites, 1 whole egg and a scoop of protein powder. (I used a spoonful of gluten-free bread mix as I don’t have any protein powder).
  • Pour into a hot, non-stick pan and cook like normal pancakes.

I found this recipe on http://she-fit.com/ and am absolutely in love with it. Thanks so much for sharing it, Ruth! I added a bunch of cinnamon and a little honey to mine. They’re also great cooked per the recipe and then topped with a little bit of jam. Mmmmm.

Would you rather get up early or sleep in?
I think I’ve finally switched to the “get up early” team… as long as it’s not too early!

5 Comments

Filed under Diet, Recipes

5 responses to “Hills and pancakes

  1. I’d definitely sleep in. ๐Ÿ™‚ Actually I do, I even go to work from 11 to 7! I have a great boss.

    mmmmm… Pancakes! I might try some over the weekend, thanks for sharing the recipe and the site.

    • My bf always says I’m a “great sleeper”. I can sleep in on weekends, sleep through long flights, sleep on buses/trains… It’s fine now and then, but I think in general I’m better off trying to keep to about 8 hours a night.

      Welcome. ๐Ÿ™‚ They have a different taste and texture than regular pancakes, but they’re quite yummy – and way better for you. Plus with the eggs and oatmeal, they keep you full for quite a while.

  2. I can’t sleep late even if I try. Age, maybe? Snoring husband? But I like the quiet in the house when I am the only one awake.

  3. Thanks for the pancake recipe!

Leave a Reply

