Girls’ Night – attempt #2

Tonight will, hopefully, be a far healthier, less indulgent version of last week.

NZ Next Top Model judges

Learning from last week’s mistakes (and the days it took me to start feeling normal again) there will be some changes this time around.

Instead of everyone bringing some snack foods, I’ve ordered a sushi platter from my favourite sushi restaurant and told everyone to bring $10 to cover the cost. There’s a great mix of veggie, salmon & avocado, shrimp and chicken (for the less adventurous) rolls and they are always super fresh. There’s no way I’m going to eat half a block of cheese or a bag of chips and dip if they aren’t an option.

I’m also going to scale back on the drinks. I didn’t get wasted last week, but 4 glasses of champagne is not something to make a regular habit of! (Last week was celebrating my promotion, though, so it’s alright). This week, I’m going to stick with one glass of red wine.

It looks like Fridays will be spent hosting girls’ nights at my place for the foreseeable future, so let’s hope I can get it sorted and have them be fun, healthy nights and not “the 5 hours that ruin my week’s worth of effort” every week. Keep your fingers crossed for me!

How do you stay motivated and on track when socializing – especially when food/drink is involved?

6 Comments

Filed under Diet, Life

6 responses to “Girls’ Night – attempt #2

  1. You are so ready for this weekend! Good luck!! I actually usually do better during food eating events because all of my friends are on TV and are really conscious about what they’re eating… and I’m less likely to eat like a maniac!

    • Thanks!
      This Friday was far more successful than the Friday before.
      I guess it depends who I go out with, but most of my friends aren’t all that diet-conscious. Or, at least, they don’t seem to be when we’re out. “Oh, go on! Have dessert. It’s a special occasion!” (Apparently anything involving one or more friends is instantly a “special occasion” and reason to eat lots of bad things!)

  2. Sounds like you have a fun night planned. Sushi is much better then chip and dip! I have an unusual habit of not eating much when I’m eating out, specially with company. All my gorging is done inside my apartment… sad but true.

    There is a research apparently, that concluded that women who drink a lot of wine are on average thinner then women who avoid drinking.

    Have fun!

    • It was a much better plan! Was just enough for us each to feel full but not overly stuffed. And no post-eating guilt (or awful “I ate bad food” side effects) the next day. 🙂
      I like that research! I had a glass of red on Friday and then another Saturday night. I’d hardly call that “a lot” but I’ll think of those 2 glasses as good things!

  3. I have a hard time staying on track when drink is involved… A really hard time. Still trying to figure that out, but as for now I stay away if I know there will be alcohol, which makes me a dull friend. 😦

    • I definitely have a hard time keeping to any sort of healthy eating when I’ve been drinking. I think in my mind I figure having alcohol means I’m already not following what I should be having, so I might as well keep going and have some bad food, too.
      Over the past year or so, though, I’ve become a lot more comfortable and confident being sober at parties etc. I can go out and limit myself to 1 drink and stick with that without feeling like I’m missing out on anything. I often drive, which gives me a great “excuse” when people offer me drinks etc. Plus the boyfriend likes being able to go out and not worrying about how we’re getting home. Definitely took a while to get to this point, though! You’ll get there!

Leave a Reply

