Sushi success

Thanks so much for all the encouragement and positive vibes around my second attempt at girls night. They all paid off because it was SO much better than the previous week. The sushi platter was the perfect amount. We each had enough to feel just full-enough, with a couple pieces leftover for little snacks a couple hours later. And at $10/person, it was a pretty cheap option, too!

I managed to stick to sushi – without overeating – and my 1 glass of red wine. When 9 pm rolled around and I was a little hungry, I sliced up an apple and had that with a glass of water. Go me! All in all, the evening finished up with everyone feeling good and satisfied. Success.

The weekend was a bit of a whirlwind. I got some great sale fares on Air New Zealand, so Saturday morning Andrew and I caught a 10 am flight to Wellington. By 11:30 we were in the country’s capital and ready for adventure! The hotel wouldn’t let us check in until 2 pm, but let us check our bags. Thankfully, the weather was nice enough and so we spent the next 5 hours wandering around the city; including a walk to the edge of downtown for lunch at a New Orleans-styled restaurant (where I had an amazing grilled chicken taco on soft corn tortilla with heaps of lettuce, tomato and a bit of fresh guacamole) and a few hours in Te Papa – the national museum.

View from the lookout at dusk

We went back to the hotel around 4:30 to check in and rest our starting-to-ache feet. By 5:30 we were back out and about, taking the trolley up to the lookout over the city and climbing trees. (Andrew’s part monkey, I swear). Then back down to town and a quest to find a great spot for dinner. Friday was the first day of “Wellington on a Plate” – a 2 week culinary festival with restaurants all over the city hosting various events – so, naturally, narrowing down a dinner choice was hard. We ended up at Vivo, which had a 3 small plates + glass of wine special. It was a cute little wine bar/restaurant and the ambiance couldn’t have been better! We each ordered 6 small plates to share; caprese salad, calamari, risotto bites, dried beef, eggplants with goat’s cheese and meatballs. We both left feeling like we ate just enough. (I wish I’d taken photos. It was a gorgeous meal of mini plates and bite-sized morsels!)

Sunday was a typical Sunday – relaxing. We left the hotel around 8:30 and wandered around downtown, grabbing some breakfast before hopping on the 10 am bus to the airport. And by 1 pm we were back home.

It was a good weekend. Minimal home-cooked meals, but I did pretty well choosing the healthy options when out and the 5 or so hours of walking Saturday probably helped with some of the extra calories that come with eating out!

How was your weekend?

8 Comments

Filed under Diet, Life

8 responses to “Sushi success

  1. Sounds like a great weekend:) I have never actually tried sushi.

    • Really!? I first had some in grade 5 when we were learning about Japan in geography. I didn’t particularly like it then, but I almost lived off it in Uni.
      If you ever want to try it, start with the more simple ones: California roll (cooked crab, avocado and cucumber) and tempura shrimp. If you like it, you can start getting more adventurous and try some of the ones with raw fish and bbq eel. πŸ™‚

  2. I recently tried sushi for the first time… LOVED it!

    My weekend was nuts.. blog soon!

    Kelly

    • Sushi is one of my preferred choices if I have to eat out. And basically the only way I get any fish in my diet (especially since cutting out the battered, deep-fried variety!)

      Looking forward to hearing about your weekend. πŸ™‚

  3. It sounds like such a fun weekend. The joys of mini-meals and half portions. A new discovery of mine:)

    • It’s a new discovery of mine, as well. It’s amazing how much more you can appreciate and enjoy a meal when you only get a couple bites of each thing. Makes you slow down and really savour it!

  4. Looks like you packed in a lot of fun… Good going on the girl’s night success and the healthy food options over the entire weekend stretch!

    I had a full weekend myself but stayed in the green, food wise.

    • Thank you!
      Was definitely a bit of a whirlwind weekend. And though I think eating meals I’ve made at home is almost always a healthier choice, I think I managed well on my multiple meals out!

Leave a Reply

