Food as a luxury?

I was just reading an article in today’s paper about weight loss due to insufficient government benefits. To sum it up: a single mother went from 130 to 110 lbs over the course of a year because welfare doesn’t cover her living expenses, so she gets by on minimizing food costs.

When I finished reading that, all I could think was “I’m so lucky”. I’m so lucky to have a job I enjoy that pays a decent wage. I’m so lucky to have a loving, supportive partner and so lucky he also has a good job. I’m so lucky to have the luxury of being able to eat what I want, when I want. I’m so lucky to have the life I do.

It also got me thinking about food and how much I take it for granted. All the times I sat and ate mindlessly, not really enjoying or even taking much notice of what was going in my mouth. The times I ate too much. The times I spent too much on food with zero nutritional value. The times I threw things away because I just couldn’t fit another bite into my stomach.

We take things for granted. That’s just the way we are. I know few people who wake up each and every morning and think about how thankful they are for the roof over their head. More likely, they’re thinking about rent/mortgage payments, bills and how much gas is going to cost since the rate hike. We don’t take time out everyday to realize how lucky we are to have legs to walk us places and arms to hug people with. Or the fact that we don’t have to worry about military occupation or bombs destroying our homes. And we certainly do take the time to really think about how lucky we are to have the foods we have before we shovel them in our mouths.

Now, I’m not saying we are bad people or need to start acknowledging every single thing in our lives, every second of the day. But I think, every now and then, we need to take a step back and realize how lucky we are. And to take the time to think about food as a bit of a luxury in that we are able to choose what we eat and when. Many people don’t have that option.

10 Comments

Filed under Life

10 responses to “Food as a luxury?

  1. How true! A few years ago when my husband lost his job, we made a point of telling our boys that many in a situation like that would have lost their houses!

  2. Thank you for the reminder. Sometimes I forget that there are those without enough food to eat, a roof over their head or a warm bed.

  3. What a wonderful post!

    I actually DO take time each morning for reflection and thanksgiving. Quite noble of me and would possibly be saintly if I wasn’t complaining about something by 9:00 a.m. 🙂 Most of us are, indeed, quite fortunate.

    • I think it would be unfair to expect people to be positive and grateful every moment of the day. The fact that you take time every morning to do that really is fantastic! I’ve been getting better at focusing on the positives and spending more energy and thoughts on them than the negatives.

  4. awesome post!! i know with me and my husband: whenever one of us says “i’m soooooo full” the other says “yeah, it’s luxurious, isn’t it?” 🙂

    • haha. I love that!
      Usually when I blurt out “I’m sooooooo full!” my boyfriend’s response it “Told ya you didn’t really need seconds…” lol. I like your responses better!

  5. It just goes to show that we have enough food in the world to feed everyone yet we do not have the heart or the resources to share our full plates. :/
    Its sad really… I try to never waste any food. I’m crafty that way but I am not 165 lbs because I’ve never had more then a stomach full. We are lucky indeed!

    • Agreed.
      Andrew and I both hate wasting food. We were at a restaurant over the weekend and the 2 ladies at the table beside us left with at least 1/2 of each plate virtually untouched. We almost asked the waitress if we could get the leftovers packed up… but then we thought she might think we’re absolute nutjobs and decided against it.

Leave a Reply

