I did it!

I knew it was going to happen. I’d been planning for it. For a few weeks, to be honest. But even though I knew it was a done-deal, definitely happening, bet-your-life-on-it thing, I didn’t want to post about it until it had actually happened. And it did, last night.

That’s right. Last night, after work, I walked my butt down to the gym and signed up for a 3 month membership. Booyah!

If a baby can do it...

I also signed Andrew up, while I was there. He wanted to go to a different gym – one a few of our friends go to – but it has a minimum 12 month contract and costs about twice as much per week. Plus, the one I signed us up at is down the street from his work. I figure if we really get in the routine of going regularly, when our 3 months are up we can join up at the other gym, knowing we’ll stick with it and the money is worth it. Or we can just renew and stay at our current gym. He agreed with my logic. (Or agree with me so I would stop carrying on about it). I’m excited that he ended up joining with me. While we won’t workout side by side or anything, it’ll be a nice thing we can do together and will be much easier to stay motivated knowing he’s in this with me.

Since work’s still crazy busy for Andrew this week, I asked them to start our memberships on Saturday. When you’re only signing up for 3 months, every day counts! There’s an 11:15 yoga class Saturday morning that I might try to get to. I’m hoping to do yoga at least once a week. Ideally, I’d like to get that up to about 3 times a week, if possible, with maybe another day or two or just working out on my own. (Very ambitious. And now written down, so I’ll have to acknowledge my success or failure at said ambitious plan here at some point.)

So there you have it. After weeks of talking about it, it’s done. Contract’s signed. Money’s paid. Access pass is in wallet. And hopefully I’ll have an exciting post Monday morning talking all about it!

Have you followed through on anything you’ve been meaning to get to for a while? Is there anything still on your “to do” list that you’re determined to check off this week?

12 Comments

Filed under Exercise

12 responses to “I did it!

  1. Good for you! I need to get back to my own gym. I keep saying I will do it when my oldest is gone next week, but honestly, bike riding outside is still taking precedence so the gym may wait for cold weather.

    • Bike riding outside – with fresh air! – is a great excuse to neglect the gym a little. I’ve been slacking because it’s winter. “It’s dark by 5!”, “It’s too cold and rainy!”, etc. Winter’s coming to an end, though, and that means shorts, tank tops and bikinis are around the corner. Plus my birthday’s a little over a month away. Great excuses for me to pick up the slack and really get settled in a good gym routine.

  2. That’s so great that you joined the gym! I bet you are going to love it. I myself love the gym!!!

    • I’ve been an on-off gym member for years. I love it when I’m in the habit of going regularly, but I kept letting things distract me and I’d always end up skipping workouts and eventually letting my membership expire. I’m hoping this time it’s a more longterm thing. And I think having Andrew on board, too, will help make it easier to maintain. We can get fit together and keep each other motivated. Plus I’ve got you guys to get on my case if I start slacking. 🙂

  3. yay, that’s exciting! i’m sure the newness of it all will make you want to workout even more! my “gym” is in the basement of our apartment building. (more of a workout room. but hey, it does the job.)

    that reminds me, i need to get on my to-do list… 🙂

    • I’d love to have a gym in my building! Of course, when I lived with my mom, a few years back, I did have one… not that I used it.
      I love to do lists. There’s something so satisfying about physically checking things off.

  4. Congrats on the gym membership! That’s what is on my to-do list as well, but it’s located at my university I attend, so I will check that off right when I’m back in September. I also find writing down your own gym times in your daily schedule is a great way to help keep you on track 🙂

    • That sounds very sensible! I miss being a student and having little perks like that.
      I think having classes I want to attend (yoga, bodysculpt, pilates) will help me go regularly. I’ll also be adding any workout to the MyFitnessPal app on my ipod, so that should be motivation, too. I don’t know about planning workouts regularly ahead of time will be too successful. Andrew and I both have jobs with hours that can be a little unpredictable and I know I’m less likely to workout if the weather’s horrible. (Listen to the excuses starting already! ha)

  5. That’s so great. I’m sure once you get into the gym habit you’ll be more comfortable going alone as well. I find that I do my best thinking and planning while I’m working out alone. It’s like getting two things for the price of one, gotta love that!

    • Agreed.
      I prefer working out alone, for the same sort of reasons you do, and probably won’t actually do any real workouts with Andrew. (He’ll be doing mainly weights and I’ll do far more cardio and stretches). The reason I’m so excited he signed up too is because I know we’ll both encourage each other the actually GO to the gym, which is always the hardest part. I knew if he didn’t join, I’d be more likely to want to stay home with him instead of going to the gym. This way there’s no one just waiting at home for us. No temptation to skip a workout!

  6. Yoga is the best workout ever! Just so calming. So happy you finally did something you had been planning on :). Its such a fulfilling feeling, getting something ticked off the list. Wish you all the best for the next three months. 🙂

    • I only really started yoga this year and I absolutely love it. Definitely calming and I always finish feeling lighter, bendier and generally like my body’s just more relaxed and aligned. I’m hoping the classes at the gym will be as good as the ones I took earlier at another studio.
      And thank you! 3 months will bring me to the beginning of December – right when the weather will really start getting nice here. If that’s not inspiration to make the most of it (upcoming bikini and shorts weather!) I don’t know what is!

Leave a Reply

