Pumping iron

I’m very excited to announce that – I went to the gym on Sunday!

This is basically what I look like when I clean.

The original plan was to go to the 11:15 am yoga class on Saturday, but Andrew was in a bad mood after waking up to some work drama and I didn’t want to go alone. So, instead, I went a little OCD and spent about 3 hours cleaning our bedroom and the guest room. One of those pull everything out of the dresser and closet and put them all back, re-folded and neatly organized (possibly by colour), followed by a good vacuuming, dusting and general tidy up. I figure, in the end, that must have been close to a one-hour yoga session. Plus, it’s just so much nicer to walk into a neat, clean room.

Andrew promised me he’d go with me on Sunday and, sure enough, we woke up and he looked over and said “Let’s go to the gym!”. (Ok, maybe it was more like “Let’s go to the gym and get it over with!” but you get the idea…)

We got there around 10:30 and there were a whopping 4 other people working out. I did a 10 minute warmup on the elliptical as Andrew headed straight for the weights. Then we did some weights together – working on machines next to each other or taking turns on the same machine. We then hopped on the treadmills for a 10 minute jog and capped it all off with some basic stretching. It ended up being about an hour’s workout and we both felt great afterwards. Andrew even mentioned that he really liked the gym and how laidback it was. Score! We made a pact that, regardless of what else happens during the week, we will work out at least every Sunday morning.

Does standing on your toes help?

The one thing that brought me down a little, though? The damn scale at the gym. Now, granted, when I weighed myself at home it was in the nude and first thing in the morning. I weighed myself mid-workout (after Andrew saw the scale and wanted to know how much he weighed) and it said 59.5 kg/131 lbs!! What the what!?! That’s .5 kg heavier than my starting weight and 1.5 kg/3.5 lbs heavier than my weigh-in one month in. AAAARGHHHHHHH!!!

I’m trying not to let it get to me. I’m trying to convince myself that, really, my shoes and workout clothes weigh at least 3 lbs and I had easily downed at least another pound of water during my workout. Or, uh, something.

That might be my new weight measuring system, though. I don’t have a scale at home, so I might start using the gym scale – extra weight and all. Though maybe I’ll take my shoes off next time…

Here’s to many more great workouts and making the gym part of my regular routine!

What did you get up to this weekend?

10 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Goals

10 responses to “Pumping iron

  1. I have never dared get on a scale outside the house except when forced at the doctor’s office! I ate crap yesterday:( But today got in a long bike ride and was back on track.

    • I try to avoid scales in general, but Andrew was weighing himself and my curiosity got the better of me! Thankfully, he was there and so I kept working out instead of getting frustrated and storming out. lol.

      Glad you got back on track so quickly! My eating wasn’t phenomenal this weekend, but not awful, either. Like every week, I’m glad it’s Monday and I’m back into my normal routine. 🙂

  2. Clothes add 2 lbs on average, so couple that with the shoes and you have nothing to worry about. Another factor in the weight going up might be water. If you had a bottle of water to sip from during your workout, as you should, that would be the culprit. Water weighs more then fat or muscle, as a rule try not to weigh yourself after you have had some.

    Don’t worry about it too much, so long as the short shorts are zipping up you know you are on the right track. Scales, they lie anyways. 🙂

    • Yeah, I figured that was the case. I’d had about 1/2 a bottle of water by that point, so I’m sure that didn’t help.
      I’ve rationalized with myself and have come to grips with the fact that it doesn’t mean I’ve gained 5 pounds. It was still a bit of a shock! Attempting to avoid the gym scale mid-workout from now on, though. 🙂

  3. you weighed yourself with your shoes on, are you crazy, girl?? lol….do not do that! of course you’re gonna weigh more with all the extra equipment!

    this weekend was pretty laid back. i got in an 8km run, which was awesome considering i pretty much took the last 6 weeks off. (my quad was being a chump.) glad to hear you like your new gym!

    • I know, I know! I blame the bf. He saw the scale and walked over all “Ooh. I wanna see how much I weigh!” and just hopped on. Curiosity got the better of me and I didn’t want to start taking shoes and layers of clothes off. haha. I’m going to pretend it all weighed about 6 lbs – factoring in shoes, clothes and all the water I’d been drinking and not really sweating off. Meaning I’ve lost 2 more lbs! haha.
      8km run is awesome considering your time off! Hope your quad’s all better and lets you get back in the running groove.

  4. Rule #1 – never weigh yourself at the gym!! Because I’m obsessed with weighing myself… I know… that most workout shoes weigh up to 3 pounds more!! Plus… if you were drinking water or had a pre-workout snack that could have played a role in the gain. FORGET IT – it means nothing… recoup and weigh yourself on your trusty home scale!

    Also – love the caption of your picture… IF ONLY I could maintain such sexy composure while cleaning. haha – love it!

    • I don’t have a home scale anymore! I used to use my Wii Fit. Naked. First thing in the morning (after a quick bathroom trip, of course!) No real shocker the gym scale showed such a different number, really. I think I’ve got over it now. No more gym scales for me. Or, at least, no gym scales without automatically deducting 5 lbs.

      Come on, now. Doesn’t everyone get their hair and makeup absolutely perfect, slip into a sexy little apron and heels then clean while maintaining picture-perfect poses at all times?! I don’t think I’d get any cleaning done. I’d be too busy admiring myself in the mirror!

  5. That pic of the woman cleaning in heels is so cute. I bet your husband would love that!!! 😉 I also did some closet cleaning this weekend. I went shopping with the fam and bought a whole bunch of fall clothes!!! I am so excited for fall and all the cozy sweaters I get to wear.

    I only weigh myself naked first thing in the morning! Lol! I’m too scared to weigh myself at the gym with all my clothes on, it would be too depressing!!!

    • My bf wishes I looked like that when I cleaned! ha. Then again, I don’t know how much cleaning I’d actually get done running around the house looking like that…
      I don’t know what possessed me to weigh myself at the gym, especially with my shoes and everything still on! Thank god I’m not actually counting that figure as any sort of weigh-in result. I don’t have a scale at home, though (good/bad thing?) so I’m not sure how, exactly, I’ll be charting any weight changes from here on. I might have to rely on the gym scale – minus the shoes, of course!

Leave a Reply

