Off to the Races!

I’m a contest junkie. It started semi-recently, maybe about a year ago? My aunt has been entering contests for as long as I remember (back when you needed to fill out a form and mail it in along with UPC codes and things!). And she would win. I think she averaged about 1 trip a year from contests – a cruise or all-inclusive holiday – along with all the other little things she’d win. I decided I might as well give it a go, too.

I haven’t won any big trips or heaps of money, but have certainly won my fair share of cool things. I got to spend a day learning to surf and horseback riding with 4 of the All Blacks (NZ’s national rugby team). I’ve won tickets to major boxing events, free movie screenings and a few other bits and bobs. I’ve also convinced my friends to start entering contests, too, and one of them won my a trip to LA for 4 nights.

Typical fashion at the races

And this morning I got an email congratulating me on winning a double pass to Whips N Spurs at Ellerslie racecourse. Now, I’ve never been to the races before. At least, never been anywhere other than in the general admission stands maybe once, years back. I’m excited – and a little nervous. Races here are a big deal. People go there to see and be seen. They get decked out in designer dresses and cute hats and gloves and look quite out of the Style page of the latest magazine.

I don’t have cute outfits!

Thankfully, my amazing friend Natalie Chan offered to lend me one of her personal fascinators for the occasion. So hopefully I’ll be able to scrape together an outfit and finish it off with a gorgeous, designer fascinator in my hair.

The challenge – other than finding appropriate fashion – is the food. These tickets are usually $75 a pop (which might also explain why I’ve never been!) and “all day food” is included. Salt & pepper squid, sushi, roasts, pastas and a chocolate fountain. Eeep! I’ll have to be very careful and very strong-willed. Especially since I’ll be PMSing this weekend – aka wanting to eat any and everything in sight. Maybe the adorable outfit I will somehow manage to muster up will help keep me on track?

Wish me luck! I’ll try to remember to take pictures so I can post them for you. I just realized I’m severely lacking in any sort of photos of me on here. (Intentional?)

Have you been to the races before? Any tips? Betting, outfits, what to bring – anything!

4 Comments

Filed under Life

4 responses to “Off to the Races!

  1. I’ve never been to the races, but it seems like it would be fun! I hope you enjoy yourself immensely!

  2. Awesome! I am also such a contest junkie! Many of my friends used to say “You always win stuff…for sure you’ll win this…or that..” etc, and all I used to tell them was that I entered contests πŸ™‚ And I still do, it’s fun!

    Congrats about the race tickets, that is so cool. I’ve never been to the races either (major horseback riding fan, though!) but I ‘bet’ it will be an experience to remember, hehe πŸ™‚

    Oh and goodluck with the various food treats, I know it’s tough…don’t forget to bring your willpower πŸ™‚

    • It is fun. And you’ll never win anything if you don’t enter. Unlike the lottery, contests are free – and you have a much better chance of winning! πŸ™‚
      It was an interesting experience. I’m writing a post about it now. I didn’t do as well as I should have with food. I should have checked this comment before I went! Wasn’t a catastrophe, but I could’ve done MUCH better!

Leave a Reply

