Little slip…

Despite my very noble and honest efforts, last night could definitely be considered a bit of a slip. I didn’t really eat anything bad, per se, but I did eat far more than I should have.

The day was fine. I even walked the long way home and stopped by the grocery store to stock up on a few veggies. Problem is, I always struggle at night. Maybe it’s being home and having a whole bunch of options accessible. Maybe it’s because I’m more relaxed and I’m not running around thinking about a hundred other things. Whatever the reason, night is the hardest time to stick to healthy eating, for me.

Andrew was making a big pot of chili – heaps of beans and tomatoes, onions, peppers, mushrooms and some lean ground beef. As he did that, I made up some open-faced tuna sandwiches topped with home-made guacamole. Yum, right? And all very healthy, in good moderation, and so on. Lovely.

That wasn’t my dinner, though. No, no. After the 2 open-faced sandwiches, I decided I was still hungry – so I had 3 rice cakes (the big ones) topped with a tbsp of almond butter and 1/2 tbsp of berry jam each. (That’s 3 tbsp almond butter and 1.5 tbsp jam, for those keeping track). Then I decided I was still hungry, so I ate a bowl of chili with about 2 tbsp of sour cream. Now, granted, it was a relatively small bowl, but still! I remember thinking “Why am I still eating!?” about halfway through the chili. And “omg my stomach is going to explode!” about 5 minutes after finishing it.

uuuuuggggggghhhhh.

I definitely spent the later part of the evening feeling over-stuffed and kinda gross. And I definitely still had a food hangover this morning.

Today is a new day, though. And I’ve been eating well so far today – though I usually do while at work – and still plan on hitting the gym tonight. Hopefully that will help me stick to a healthy dinner!

Do you have a certain time of day that is most challenging to you? What do you do to make sure you stay on track?

2 Comments

Filed under Diet

2 responses to “Little slip…

  1. Been there, done that. Too many times:( Evenings are by far the worst for me. I am really struggling right now, actually. (Well -not RIGHT now since it is morning…)

    • I feel like I do so well all day. I walk to/from work. I usually walk about 30-40 minutes at lunch. I eat all sorts of fresh fruits and veggies and drink lots of water and feel great. Then I get home and it’s like POW! Food attack! And next thing I know, I’ve eaten enough for 3 people. sigh.
      What is it about the evenings that make it so much harder to stick with it than the rest of the day?

Leave a Reply

