The gun show

Last night Andrew and I headed out to the gym. Until now, we had just gone Sunday mornings, where there were maybe another 3-4 people working out total. I knew weekday nights would be completely different. The gym we go to is in the heart of downtown Auckland, so you can only assume a whole whack of people head there from the office for a quick workout before heading home for the night.

I was right.

Andrew had some things to catch up with at the office, so we decided to meet at the gym at 7 pm – theoretically late enough for most of the afterwork crowd to be done their workout and on their way home. We were almost right.

The gym was still pretty busy when we arrived. And it was a world different from Sunday mornings! All the treadmills and ellipticals were taken, so we each did about 5 minutes on the bikes to warm up. And though there were quite a few people using the machines, we managed to get a full workout in without having to wait to use any machine.

Best part of the workout?
When I was doing bicep curls, a personal trainer walked by and said “Whoa. Gun show going on over here!” in an encouraging tone. Which I found hilarious as I was lifting a whopping 12 kg/26 lbs between both arms.

Worst part of the workout?
Not the fact it was busy – since it didn’t really hinder our workout at all – but the number of stereotypical musclehead gym types. Grunting loudly with every rep and punching each other’s abs and fist pumping between sets. I definitely prefer the Sunday morning “crowd”.

All in all, though, it was a good workout. Andrew and I talked about possibly switching it up and doing our workouts before work on weekdays instead of after. I don’t know how I feel about the early mornings – I struggle enough as it is now! – but it might be worth it. Would be an energizing way to start the day. I guess it really depends on whether there’s a big difference in the crowds.

If you go to a gym, when’s your favourite time to workout? Does having lots of people around motivate you or discourage you?

14 Comments

Filed under Exercise

14 responses to “The gun show

  1. I like going to the gym early in the morning, before work. I enjoy knowing that I will be done with exercise in the morning so I can focus on the rest of the days events. I think we need a picture of the gun show 🙂

    • I’m really not a morning person, but I think hitting the gym in the morning might work for me. I always feel energized after a workout and it could be a great way to really wake me up and get me energized for the rest of the day.
      haha. The “guns” are bb guns, at best. I’ll take a photo when there are some guns to show off! 😉

  2. I’m fortunate that I can go whenever since I don’t work. I avoid evenings and weekends like the plague! I really don’t like crowds. But I take classes and sometimes it is just too tight in there or the last exercise bike is taken.

    • If I could, I would probably workout around 11 am, I think. Unfortunately, I doubt my boss would be cool with me ditching work for an hour and a bit several times a week!
      The gym is relatively new and opening a second floor in late September. So all the cardio and studios/classes will be on one floor and the weights and machines on the other. Will be interesting to see if that changes how busy/crowded it seems.

  3. I love an empty gym! I have an all women gym now, but I’ve used both. Pros and cons to each for sure. I just like having all my choices and get claustrophobic really easily. I definitley like the energy of going to the gym sometimes.
    By the way, I checked out your photography site… You’re amazing. Those photos were really beautiful and interesting.

    • I used to go to a women only gym and enjoyed it. I decided to do co-ed this time because I wanted my bf to join, too. Mainly because I know I’m way more likely to go if he goes with me but also because I thought he would be a good workout partner. We’ve been doing the same workouts – with different weights – and he’s been great both teaching me new exercises as well as encouraging me and pushing me to do my best. Plus, I’m competitive around him, so I’m always pushing myself to step it up, too. I can also focus on his advice/encouragement and kinda ignore everyone else while working out.

      And thank you! I have to update my portfolio with some more fashiony shots I’ve taken recently. Not bad for someone who’s self0taught, I reckon! I’m glad you like my work. 🙂

  4. I lost my weight working out after work every day, but after my job was eliminated, I started working out mid-morning. Lately, I’ve been experimenting, and my favorite gym time is around 1:00 p.m. There are enough people there to keep it interesting, but not crowded at all. Plus, the beefy boys are all out…eating beef, I guess. 🙂

    • I don’t mind a few people around. Like you said, it keeps it interesting. I’m less enthused about the beefy, grunty, fist-pump muscleheads. I also wonder, with summer coming up here in the southern hemisphere, if the gyms is going to get more busy (with people trying to tone up for bikini season) or less busy (since everyone would rather be outside, surfing, etc). That might change the “best” workout times, too.

  5. Jos

    I prefer to workout in the morning because I can get it done. So far I only workout at home (don’t have gym membership – don’t like going to a gym b/c of the hassle to make extra trip just for exercising).

    Btw, you’ve been rewarded with Cherry Award. 🙂

    • That makes sense. I don’t have enough willpower to workout at home. If I’m home, I’ll be cooking, eating, cleaning or watching TV with the bf. I need the gym to actually commit and go do it.
      And thank you!!! That’s my first blog award. (Awwww!) 🙂

  6. Danielle, you have no idea how much i can’t stand grunters!!! my gym is the workout room in my apartment builing, so there’s never a lot of people down there. BUT there’s always some random grunter, and it makes me SO uncomfortable to be down there when it’s just me, and some dude making sex noises!! (i can say that, right?)

    but when there’s someone else doing cardio, i kinda like it. i suddenly get in competition 😛

    • It TOTALLY sounds like sex noises! Like… angry, creepy sex noises. I guess that’s one time the gym outside the apartment is better. I’m less likely to run into awkward grunting dude outside the gym!
      I’m definitely better at cardio when people are around. I don’t want to be the girl who tires out after 4 minutes on the treadmill. (I can jog for 7 thankyouverymuch!) And Andrew always has to be at a higher speed than me – he’s uber competitive – so it pushes me to go harder, too, just to challenge him.

    • And thank you! 🙂
      I don’t think I have another 10 lovely people I can pass it on to just yet (without just passing it to everyone I just nominated!)
      Have put it up on my new “awards” section and will pass it along when I have some great new people to pass it on to. 🙂

Leave a Reply

