Cherries

The lovely Jos from Delightful Tastebuds nominated me for an award! My first blog award ever. (Awwww!) What a wonderful way to kick off a Friday!

Along with it came 3 rules:

1. Answer this question: If you had the chance to go back and change one thing in your life, what would it be?
This is actually quite difficult. I am lucky enough to regret very few things in my (almost 27) years of life because even the bad decisions/relationships/experiences had a lot of good has come out of them. And who knows if I’d be where I am and as happy as I am now if I didn’t go through those things. I think I would narrow it down to: I wish I knew then what I know now about health, diet and lifestyle. Maybe then I would still have nice, normal hair and not be self-conscious about the thinning hair I have now. Maybe then I would’ve cut gluten out long before I had eczema that brought me to tears. And on and on…

2. Nominate another 6 people for this award  and let them know they’ve got the award.
Karen at Waisting Time
Angela the Diet Book Junkie
Amanda at Me vs The Bulge
Food Addict at Food: My Drug of Choice
Cammie at The Tippy Toe Diet
Bobbie at Anonymous Fat Girl
45Before35
(I know that isn’t 6. I don’t care. I’m a rule-breaker! Or really poor counter… Either way, they all deserve it.)

3. Thank the person who gave you the award.
Jos – thank you SO much! This is my frist blog award and I’m absolutely delighted. I love following your blog and am quite chuffed you nominated me. 🙂 The food photos you post always make me drool and I love how open and honest your posts are.

I remembered 2 things from the gym the other night that I forgot to post about yesterday. The first is that I could leg curl the same amount of weight as Andrew could. I think that has a lot to do with all the walking (including lots of hills!) I do daily and the fact that he hates leg workouts. Either way, I was pretty impressed with myself!

The second was when we came home. Andrew looked at me, rather seriously, and said “You know, if you keep working out with me, there’s a good chance you’ll actually gain weight”. I must have given him a weird look because he immediately followed with “You know. Because we’re doing weight training, you’ll be gaining muscle… so your weight could actually go up just with the increased muscle mass!” He was quite concerned that if the scales showed a weight gain, I might get upset and was trying to reassure me ahead of time that it was normal when weight training. I laughed and said “The scale could say I’m 200 lbs and if I looked and felt great, I wouldn’t care!” My rationale is that it’s very obvious what size you are but really indefinite what actual weight you are. He seemed relieved and quite happy with my viewpoint on the whole thing.


Is weight the ultimate measure for you? Or is size? Overall health? Would you get upset if the scale showed a higher number, but you were fitting into smaller clothes?

14 Comments

Filed under Exercise

14 responses to “Cherries

  1. congrats on the award, and thank you SO MUCH for thinking of me!!! i love reading your blog, you have such a healthy view on eating and exercise 🙂

    i think you took the word right out of my mouth: your size is very obvious, but your weight is indefinite. that’s why i can weigh myself and not get emotionally involved. the scale just let’s me know when i’ve been eating too many Tim Tams, that’s all 🙂

    but it’s also important to note – you are not your dress size!!! i learned this when moving to Australia. i didn’t realize clothing sizes were different. in Canada i was a size 8, in Australia i was, well, not. (at first i thought i’d gained 10lbs from the flight over!!) but i must admit, i think it’s funny when i go back home and i’m suddely an xtra-small (haha…i am SO not an extra small :P)

    • Aww thanks. 🙂
      Your blog is great because it brings up all these great thinking points. I just ramble on about myself, mainly. ha.

      And omg I just about died when I tried on clothes here for the first time! I’m so used to 12 being “plus sized” that I was quite upset when I tried on a pair of size 10 pants and could barely fit in them. It takes a little while to wrap your head around the difference in sizing, but I’m getting used to it. Of course, in Canada I could fit anything from a small to an x-large shirt, depending on the brand/cut, so it’s definitely true that (clothing) sizes mean almost as much as the numbers on the scale!

  2. Thank you:) I will post about this probably next week. (Maybe the week after, now that I am posting less… but it is coming!)

    I actually have a blog written about the questions you ask. Different spin; same basic point. (That one was a maybe for next week posting too.) Once upon a time it was all about the weight for me. In the past year, I have realized that the number is not as important for me as my relationship with food.

    • You’re welcome. 🙂
      I remember a few years ago I told myself I wasn’t allowed to buy any new clothes until I hit a certain weight. That lasted until one of my favourite stores had a sale. (Go willpower! ha) Back then, the number on the scale meant everything. Now, it’s different. Maybe because I don’t have easy access to a scale so I have to track my progress differently. Maybe because I’m noticing improvements in my health and that’s keeping me motivated. Whatever the reason, the number on the scale has far less power over me now than it ever did before – and I like it that way.

  3. Congrats – I was going to give you this award as well! Drats – now, I have to come up with someone else….

    • Awww, thank you!
      I can’t believe I missed you from my list. I’m changing it to 7 people. Rules be damned! You deserve this award, too. (Though it sounds like you already have it. Doesn’t matter!)
      Hooray for little awards. 🙂

  4. Congratulations on your award–the first of many, I’m sure! And thank you so much for sharing it with me. I’m so flattered!

    I had to laugh when I read this: “The scale could say I’m 200 lbs and if I looked and felt great, I wouldn’t care!” I said the *exact* same words to a friend of mine when I was just getting started. I had also realized that it wasn’t about the weight as much as it was about how I felt, both physically and mentally/emotionally.

    Hmmm, I wonder if you’re my long-lost twin. 🙂

    • I’d like to think I’m some sort of twin/kindred spirit to lots of people. 🙂
      I continue to think that’s the biggest change *this* time around for me. It’s got absolutely nothing to do with the scale. Every other time I’d try to diet or lose weight, I’d focus just on the number on the scale. This time, it’s all about how I feel – and it’s working!

  5. Thank you so much for the award!!! Thanks for thinking of me!

  6. Overall health is definitely the ulitmate measure for me. What’s the point in being slim if you feel rough all the time and it hinders living your life. When I was eating gluten I was so slim but I felt ill all the time and it was just miserable.

    And you’re right, there’s gluten in so much isn’t there! It drives me around the bend. Luckily in the UK we’re getting pretty good at labelling products that are TRULY gluten-free.

    Hope you’re having a great weekend x

    • Exactly! What’s the point of counting calories if you don’t care whether they are coming from fresh veggies or chocolate bars? What’s the point of fitting in those skinny jeans if you are constantly tired/sick/run-down and generally miserable?

      When you start looking, gluten really is in all sorts of things you wouldn’t expect. Like soup. Why on earth do you need to be adding wheat and flour to soup!? New Zealand is pretty good, too. There are a lot of food allergies here and, subsequently, lots of companies that cater to that. There’s a whole “Free-from” aisle in major supermarkets where you can find anything from gluten-free to dairy-free to sugar-free, etc etc. Though I’ve started to try to eat mainly things that are naturally gluten-free. Breads and pastas and things never taste quite the same when made with rice/potato/corn flour…

      And my weekend was lovely, thanks! 🙂 Hope yours was, too.

  7. AFG

    Danielle, Thanks so much for mentioning me! 🙂

    The overall measurement for me is fitness. Of course, I want the weight off and the clothing size smaller, but I’m focused on fitness more than any other time in my life. 🙂

    • You’re welcome. Your blog is definitely one of the ones I find a lot of strength, motivation and inspiration from – you totally deserve the award! 🙂
      Agreed. Less weight and smaller clothes sizes will be nice – but they’re just a by-product of getting healthier, not the main focus this time!

Leave a Reply

