Ups and downs

Oh Monday, we meet again…

The weekend was pretty good. A few ups and downs. More ups than downs, I reckon, but a few of both all the same.

  • UP – my friend came back from her 6 week trip to England
  • DOWN – her and her bf were so smitten and adorable it made me miss that cutesy-ness Andrew and I used to have. (Though Andrew reminded me it’s not fair to compare a couple who hadn’t seen each other in 6 weeks to a couple who’s been living together – and seeing each other every day – for over 2 years).
  • UP – went out to a comedy festival Friday night. Must have laughed off at least 250 cal!
  • DOWN – went out for Thai food after the show
  • UP – didn’t go out for any high-calorie food after the show
  • DOWN – didn’t go out for food because Andrew & I got in a small fight (more accurately, a slight disagreement because we were tired) and went home instead.
  • UP – did an awesome photoshoot on Saturday with a new model
  • DOWN – it was raining and cold for the entire shoot
  • UP – the photos turned out awesome all the same.
  • DOWN – Andrew had to work all weekend
  • UP – We met up during his lunch break Sunday to hit the gym anyway
  • UP/DOWN – I am super sore from said workout today.

As I said, more ups than downs and the downs weren’t really all that bad.

I’m late on updating my weight/measurements. I didn’t do it last week because of that time and I didn’t want the bloating etc influencing my results. Of course, I think I’m also putting it off because I don’t think there’s been much change this month and I’m trying to avoid disappointment. sigh.

Will try to remember to get that done tomorrow morning, though. Measurements, at least. I can’t do weight at home anymore since selling my Wii Fit “scale”. No more putting it off. If nothing else, it’ll be motivation for the gym over the next few weeks!

Do you put things off because you know you haven’t done as well as you were hoping to? If you do weigh in/measure and you haven’t changed since last time, what do you do to get motivated? Do you change anything to improve your chances of seeing results next time?

12 Comments

Filed under Diet, Exercise, Life

12 responses to “Ups and downs

  1. Yes, to all of the above questions – check out my lack of weigh ins for the last two weeks and no recent pics. I am also struggling with how to overcome this issue. I’ll let you know when I resolve it:).

    FYI – I love your inventory of ups and downs. My weekend was very similiar – very bipolar (good vs. bad). Have a great week!

    • It’s nice to know I’m not alone. (I think that’s one of the biggest draws to blogging – that sense of “other people are going through this, too!”) Let me know if you come up with a solution! I’m hoping the gym will soon start to show some benefits… but I’ve only been going 2x/week for 2 weeks, so I can hardly expect any major results yet.

      Thanks! Have a good week yourself. 🙂

  2. A roller coaster wouldn’t be as fun if it was all ups…so why would life be any different.

    • You are absolutely right!
      The downs/bads/whatevers are necessary for us to be able to notice and appreciate the ups.
      I like to try to keep that in mind. As long as the ups are outweighing the downs, life’s good. 🙂

  3. Mon

    Hey Danielle,
    Loved your list! Re changing things to improve your weight loss efforts – do you keep a food diary?
    I always found that writing down everything I eat was a great way to stay on track.
    Best Wishes for a good rest of the week,
    Mon

    • Thank you. 🙂
      I was semi keeping track for a week or two (ADD kicked in and I got bored. haha). I should start doing that again. It was quite interesting to track my food and I think it did keep me a little more focused and on track. I’ll try to get back into that again this week!

  4. I have been measuring once a month on the first. In August, I was out of town that day. And very glad not to measure. I just skipped all together and didn’t do it when I got home. Probably a big mistake since it was a bad eating month for me.

    • I was doing once a month around the 5th as that’s when I started. (Apparently I’m not one for neat dates like the first, last or even middle of the month!) I think I’d end up slacking off more and more if I don’t actually measure – so I’m sucking it up and doing it right after this comment. Even if it shows no loss, at least it’ll be done and I can use it as motivation to do better this month!

  5. I ALWAYS do that!! If I know the scale is going to disappoint me I try to avoid it. The funny thing is… usually it’s not nearly as bad as I had anticipated!

    • I sucked it up and actually did my measurements and, you’re right, they weren’t as bad as I was expecting! Not huge loses, but I wasn’t thinking there were going to be any. *phew*

  6. I don’t have a regular routine anymore, but when I was in losing mode, I weighed regularly at the gym. At night. With my shoes on. 🙂 I saw it as just a moment in time. If it was up, I used the number as motivation to see a down number the next weigh-in. If I showed a loss, I used that as motivation to see another loss at the next weigh-in. It helped me to disconnect “success” from the scale.

    • I think that’s a great idea, actually. Train your mind to disconnect weight and success.
      Tonight should be a gym night – working legs and abs. (MY chest/shoulders/arms are still sore from Sunday!) will hop on the scale, shoes and all, and record that number. I can’t really compare it with my first 2 weigh-ins, but at least I can use it to compare future “gym weigh-ins”. 🙂

Leave a Reply

