It’s on like Donkey Kong!

OMG.

Banana soft serve is AMAZING!

I know I’m eons behind the times on this one, but I did not have a blender/food processor until this weekend. I’ve been dying to try soft serve since I heard about it on multiple blogs month ago. So, naturally, I was trying bananas in the freezer before I even got the new-to-me food processor down on the countertop!

My new baby!

Now, I was SUPER excited about this food processor – mainly because I wanted to try this soft serve – but also because I found it, in great condition, at a secondhand shop for $40. Score! Upon getting it home and set up, I realized it’s missing a few attachments and blades and things – but it still acts like a blender, juicer, cream whipper, french fry slicer and dough mixer, so I still think I got a great deal on it!

Somehow, I managed to wait a full 24 hours or so to make sure the banana was fully frozen before excitedly trying to make what everyone else has been raving about forever. I took it out of the freezer and carefully peeled it with a sharp knife, then cut it into chunks and tossed it in my food processor. Pulse. Pulse. Pulse. (To break up the banana into little bits). Then a few minutes of blending – stopping occasionally to scrape the mixture down from the sides.

Once it seemed to have a good, creamy consistency, I scraped it out into a bowl and plopped down on the couch to give it a whirl. And, as you probably have already guessed, I absolutely LOVED it. It had the same consistency as ice cream and was just as satisfying. Possibly even more satisfying because I knew it was just a banana. Talk about the ultimate in guilt-free!

Om nom nom. Amazing.

I’m super excited about trying more varieties. Adding some other frozen berries, some cocoa powder, maybe even a little peanut butter! I also can’t wait to whip up a batch for my vegan friend. With summer just around the corner, I’m sure she’s going to love this dairy-free treat.

Plus, now I can finally try a whole heap of other recipes I’ve been holding off on for lack of food processor. A green monster for breakfast tomorrow? Some chocolate macaroons for dessert? Pureed and blended everything just because I can?! Yes!

What are your favourite “food processor foods”? What other amazing treats have I been missing out on? Dish!

21 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Products, Recipes

21 responses to “It’s on like Donkey Kong!

  1. I need need NEEEEEEED a food processor! I have been reading about this banana soft serve business for far too long. I need one. Stat!

    • That was exactly my thought process. I was obsessed!
      But I kept looking and looking and couldn’t justify spending $75+ on a food processor just so I could make banana soft serve. When I saw this in the shop, I figured it was a sign. haha.
      With summer coming up, you’ll totally love it! Definitely look into getting one. It doesn’t need to be super fancy – as long as it’s got the blender-style blades, you’re set. 🙂

  2. Nice find!

    I’m so lazy. I usually just mash up the banana in a bowl and put it in the freezer for a while. Not quite the same consistency as the soft-serve version, but it gets the job done. 🙂

    • It’s probably best I didn’t read this until AFTER I bought a food processor… I would probably have done the same thing and figured I don’t need a food processor after all!
      I have a feeling it’ll go a long way in helping me stay on track this summer. I love ice cream but really shouldn’t have much since the Dr. told me to basically cut out dairy and sugar and this will keep me from cheating. And it’s much cheaper!

  3. Oh my gosh! I’ve never heard of that. That looks so good and it’s something I can give my daughter and really feel good about it. The timing of this couldn’t be better… I think she’s eating too much dairy and having some allergies.
    Thanks for sharing. I can’t believe how simple that is.

    • When I first saw someone write about it, I didn’t believe them. Then I read a bunch more people raving about it. Then I tried it.
      Even my bf – the “I-don’t-like-health-food” guy – said we should make sure we always have ripe bananas waiting in the freezer so we can have this at any given time. She’ll love it! And it’s so easy to make!

  4. A new food processor would be the highlight of my weekend too!!! I bought my magimix last summer and it’s one of the best purchases ever. I love it. And you’re right, banana softserve is a dream xxx

    • I’ve been thinking about getting one for ages but thought once I did I might not use it enough. Now that I have one, I know that’s definitely not the case! I keep finding great recipes for it – and new healthy recipes are always a good thing.
      Made a batch of raw, vegan “cheesecake” last night and left it in the freezer to set. Will let you know how it turns out!

  5. Looks yummy! I mostly use my processor for slicing and food prep. Looks like I need to branch out.

    I finally got around to posting about blog awards today and awarded one back to you:)

    • I quite enjoy slicing and prepping food (when I’m not slicing my fingers!) so I never really thought of getting a food processor for that reason – but I’ll definitely be using it for that now and then when I’m lacking time or just don’t feel like doing all that work.
      And thank you! 😀

  6. That looks amazing! I have a food processor so I’m going to have to give that a whirl!

    • It’s delicious!
      Make sure the banana is really ripe before freezing, so it’s sweeter, and it’s easier to peel and chop the banana *before* freezing it. Lesson learned the hard way on that! Let me know what you think when you try it. 🙂

  7. Thanks for the idea! I can’t do bananas right now because I’m low carb and a medium banana is 23.9 carbs, but I DO have an alternative. 1/2 cup frozen strawberries at 5 carbs with 1/2 cup whole goat milk at 5.5 carbs (that’s what we have here, from our goat!) in my twist-top mixer makes a delicious frozen treat. Actually, I’m thinking that should be today’s dessert! Thanks. Vee at http://veegettinghealthy.blogspot.com

    • Mmmm. Strawberry and fresh milk ice cream?! Yum!
      I think I need to start getting more goat’s milk than cow’s milk dairy stuff. It’s apparently a lot easier on your system to digest. Unfortunately, there aren’t that many options available that I’ve been able to find just yet. (Having a goat in the backyard would definitely be handy!)

  8. Hey Danielle – how long does it take for the banana to freeze?

    • I’m not sure exactly. I’ve been tossing them in the freezer overnight and they’re ready for supper the next day. I’m sure they probably freeze in less time, though. Depends on how small the pieces are, too, I’d guess?
      I’ve decided to just start peeling, chopping and freezing bananas as they get ripe – so I’ll never have to wait for one to freeze before I can use it.

  9. I’m hoping it only takes an hour or two as I would love to try it tonight! Borrowing my aunts food processor. 😉

    • Oooh nice! 🙂
      If you’re strapped for time, I’d suggest cutting the banana into small pieces to help it freeze faster. Peel, chop and put in a single layer in a ziploc bag. Maybe doing something like putting other frozen things below/on top of the banana pieces might help, too? Definitely cutting it into smaller pieces will help.

  10. Great! Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

