Healthy Hoggin’

I spent a good few hours last night reading through Megan’s blog: Healthy Hoggin. (If you haven’t been there before – go!)

I think she’s going to be my food bible for the next little while. Or, at least, she’s going to be where I turn for some yummy, yummy raw, vegan treat ideas and inspiration for indulgent healthy treats. Plus she uses a food processor lots and I’m totally all about that right now.

After looking through pages or posts and recipes, I decided I wanted to try:
Raw cheesecake
Raw chocolate macaroons
Detox Mac n Cheese
Roast broccoli
and Cherry Chocolate Bomb pudding

Of course, being the clever girl I am, I figured I could remember all necessary ingredients without writing them down if I went straight to the supermarket after reading the recipes. Needless to say, I came home from missing at least an ingredient or two from most recipes. (Though, to my credit, that’s because the supermarket didn’t actually have a few of the ingredients!)

I did whip up some roasted broccoli and raw cheesecake, though!
The broccoli was okay, but I think know I was overly generous with my olive oil and they ended up being too greasy for my tastes. But I can see the potential, so I’ll definitely be trying that again with a little less EVOO. The cheesecake has to sit in the freezer overnight to set, so I can’t give you a verdict on it yet. I can tell you that the leftover “batter” was delicious, though! Can’t wait to try the real thing tonight.

I also whipped up my very first Green Monster for breakfast this morning. Well, technically, it’s more of a Purple Monster…

Roar!

It’s about 2 cups of spinach, a banana, a handful of frozen strawberries/blueberries/blackberries, a splash of rice milk and  some water – blended to bits! Bits is actually a good description… I was running late this morning and, never having made this before, I blended til it looked liquidy. Then I tossed it in a container and ran out the door. It is yummy – I won’t argue that! – but it definitely could’ve used some more time in the processor. I keep having bits of spinach I need to chew and I don’t think that’s really how it’s supposed to be. I think the berry seeds are adding to that, too.

I’m definitely going to keep making these and adjusting the recipe to taste until I find some perfect Green Monster recipes which, of course, I’ll pass along here.

Do you have any websites/blogs that you turn to for food and recipe ideas? Are you a Green Monster fan? If so, what are your favourite ingredients? How long do you blend it to make sure there are no little pieces left?

6 Comments

Filed under Diet, Links, Recipes

6 responses to “Healthy Hoggin’

  1. I’ve made roasted broccoli. I got the recipe from a 3fatchick forum. It is a great resource; you can pick which forum based on how you choose to eat. I also like Kalyn’s Kitchen and allrecipes.com.

  2. i really thought about incorporating more raw food into my diet (since i’m mostly vegetarian and i don’t cook anyway) but my goodness, there is A LOT of prep work involved! not all of them of course, but a lot of recipes require dehydrating food for a few hours and i just don’t have the time. the desserts are probably the least time consuming though, i could definitely go for some chocolate macaroons 🙂

    i was “doing” The Abs Diet for a while, and the author recommended blending your smoothie for up to 10 minutes. i only did mine 5, but i tell you, it was SO thick, and sooo filling, i highly recommend. 🙂

    • There is a fair bit of prep work involved. I usually cook most meals from scratch in the evenings, so I’m probably more used to a decent amount of prep than a lot of people. Of course, I also like to eat soon after all the prep is done – so I don’t know how well I’ll deal with having to wait for things to dehydrate. Hmm.
      Yeah, I was definitely closer to the 2 minute mark on blending time. (Which explains a lot!) What did you put in your smoothies? I used to have egg whites, yoghurt, protein powder (vanilla) and strawberry smoothies all the time but I want to move away from dairy/eggs and start having more plant-based stuff.

  3. I adore allrecipes. You can find any recipe in the entire universe there, I’m convinced. 🙂

    My favorite smoothie (green or not) is peanut butter and banana. If there are enough calories left for the day, I’ll drizzle some honey on top. Yummy!

    • Just about anything with peanut butter gets bumped up to the top of the “delicious” list for me! Add banana (or chocolate) and I’m basically guaranteed to love it. Mmm mmm.

Leave a Reply

