Foam, foam, go away.

Green Monster attempt #2 this morning wasn’t any more successful than my attempt yesterday. In fact, I think I like yesterday’s smoothie better. bah!

It's so foamy!

Ingredients:
– 4 handfuls of spinach
– 1 rose apple (peeled)
– 1 banana
– some water to thin it out a little
– a dash of cinnamon

Blend, blend, blend – about 5 minutes.

It tastes pretty yummy. Almost like a very healthy, vegetable-based apple pie?

Problems:
– Β it STILL has the little chunky pieces (of spinach and apple this time) that I find myself chewing as I drink it.
– it’s foamy. Due totally, I’m sure, to the long blending time.

Any advice? Maybe I’m expecting too much. Maybe I should be using a juicer, not a blender, to make these things if I expect a nice, smooth drink. Maybe I should be adding ice so it’s more like a slushie and I don’t notice the bits of food as much? All I know is that something’s gotta change.

Hmph.

Ignoring my failures to make a perfect smoothie, I’ve been impressed with myself recently. I’ve been eating pretty well, drinking lots of water and green tea, walking lots (despite the Australia-sized storm that’s been bashing NZ since Friday). I feel like I’m back in the groove. And while it’s not suddenly super challenging, I feel like I’m starting to work on it again. Maybe it’s all the new recipes and experimenting in the kitchen. Or the fact that I rocked out a 40-minute chest and shoulder workout with free weights and machines while every other girl in the gym was either on a treadmill/elliptical/bike or stretching. Or the fact that I feel like my waist is getting just the teensiest bit smaller.

Whatever it is – I like it.

Speaking of new recipes, when I got home from the gym last night, I decided to try the Raw Cheesecake I made the night before.

Raw, vegan chocolate "cheesecake".

I didn’t have any cute little springform pans so I just made it in our microwave egg poacher – which happened to be the perfect size. Mine’s the one on the left. Andrew’s is the pure chocolate one on the right. He was skeptical, to say the least, when I was making them. “Add cocoa to mine. I don’t want it to tastes like veggies!!!” In the end, he liked mine better and we both agreed it really, really had the same taste and texture as cheesecake. I think I’m going to make the next batch with a smidge less lemon juice (I found it slightly overpowering) and with a gluten-free crust. Will be testing them out on a couple vegan friends this weekend – exciting!

What was really funny about eating the cheesecake, though, is that even though it’s a healthy version – with no dairy and only a little honey as sweetener – I felt like I have totally cheated and indulged in some forbidden treat by the time I was done! Except it came with no sugar crash, headache, stomachache or cravings afterwards. Guess what else is going to turn into a freezer staple along with my frozen bananas?

Do you have any ideas or suggestions to get my smoothies velvety smooth without all that foam? Should I be trying a juicer instead? Make it the night before and chill it? Help!

6 Comments

Filed under Diet, Recipes

6 responses to “Foam, foam, go away.

  1. Juicing is definitely an option, but your idea about adding ice so you won’t notice the chewy bits sounds good too. Helps when I add hemp seeds to my smoothies because they don’t pulverize.

    Those cheesecakes look wonderful! Vee at http://veegettinghealthy.blogspot.com

    • I just bought ice cube trays yesterday (who doesn’t have ice cube trays?! Me, apparently!) so there will be ice cubes tomorrow morning. May have to incorporate them into the mix and see how that goes!
      The cheesecakes are delicious – and look like the “normal” cheesecake. You should give them a go! They’re pretty easy to make and oh-so-yummy. πŸ™‚

  2. When I first started making smoothies, I had the same problem. Now, I put my liquid in first, add the spinach, then puree that ’til smooth. Then I add my fruit, yogurt, peanut butter, etc. No more spinach bits!

    • Ooooh. I’m going to try that!
      I was told to put the spinach in, then add the bananas and fruit (to weigh the spinach down) and add water as I go to get the consistency I want. Tomorrow morning I’m doing liquid and spinach til smooth then the extra bits! Hopefully that’ll get rid of the spinach bits and maybe even cut down on the foam since I won’t be blending the whole thing for ages. Thanks!

  3. yikes! sorry mate, i ran out of ideas after blending it for longer. know what you mean about the foam. i found it get’s better if you let it sit in the fridge for a while (but who really wants to do that. plus it doesn’t solve the problem about the chunks. hmm….)

    i know you’re gonna think i’m crazy, but i’m not much of a cheesecake person :S (i know, sacrilege!)

    • All good. I think I’ve got it sorted – posting about it today. πŸ™‚

      And that’s not crazy. I know a few people who aren’t that fond of cheesecake. It’s been one of my “go to” desserts since going gluten-free, though, since it’s so readily available and only the crust has gluten – which is easily avoidable. I can’t remember the last time I had actual cheesecake, though! I’d say it’s been at least 6-8 months. So I’m clearly not a cheesecake fanatic. ha

Leave a Reply

