You’re not eating enough food

I’ve been doing more research into raw food and while I’m definitely not about to become a raw foodist, I am interested in the concepts behind it and in trying to incorporate a few more raw food recipes into my diet. (Especially the ones that don’t involves hours of prep in a food dehydrator!)

While looking up new websites, blogs and forums to find new recipes, I stumbled across a forum post called “If you’re overweight or unhealthy, it’s because you aren’t eating enough food”. Of course, after reading that title my mind immediately went to “Who is this crazy person and what on earth is she on about!?!” I clicked on the title and started reading her post. And it made absolute sense!

Food (noun)
Material, usually of plant or animal origin, that contains or consists of essential body nutrients, and is ingested and assimilated by an organism to produce energy, stimulate growth and repair, and maintain life

Now think about what you eat. Does is meet the criteria set out in that definition of what is “food”? Does it produce energy, stimulate growth and repair, and maintain life? It’s amazing how the answer to that, for a lot of things we eat, would be a resounding “No!”

Let’s take a look at a slice of pepperoni pizza (yum!) using the criteria above:

1. Will pizza produce energy? Will it help me feel good and get through a long day?
Not really. I might get a bit from it, but I’ll probably feel worse off by the time it starts digesting.

2. Will the pizza stimulate growth?
Well, there is calcium in the cheese, which may help build strong bones… but there isn’t much else that will contribute to the creation and growth of healthy cells, tissue, organs, etc. (Unless waistline counts. It could certainly stimulate growth there!)

3. Will the pizza stimulate repair?
Nope. In fact, the fats and sodium levels will probably do far more to harm vital organs than it will to repair them.

3. Will the pizza maintain life? ie: Is it contributing to my overall health and ensuring my body has all the nutrients it needs to live a long, healthy life?
Yeah, that’s another big no.

What does that mean? Well, in short, a slice of pepperoni pizza is not food. It’s just stuff that we eat.

Now give that a minute to sink in. Really absorb what this is saying. I’ll wait.

Just because we eat something, doesn’t mean it is food. Just because we swallow something, doesn’t mean our body knows what to do with it.ย Our bodies know what to do with fruits and vegetables and grains and nuts – with food. They know how to break them down and how to use their nutrients to nourish, feed, heal and grow our bodies. Our bodies have no idea what to do with stuff. So we get tired and irritable. Bloated. Sick. Overweight.

I’m going to try to remember this and consider it when deciding what to eat.
Is this FOOD or just STUFF that tastes good?
In theory, eat way more food and way less stuff will lead to improved health – including your body returning to a more natural, healthy size and weight.

Do you eat more food or more stuff?

13 Comments

Filed under Diet

13 responses to “You’re not eating enough food

  1. Great great GREAT post lovely! So true.

    And you know me – I eat a lot of FOOD! ๐Ÿ˜€ Say goodbye to STUFF!

    • Mmmmm. Food. ๐Ÿ™‚
      I’ll admit, I still eat stuff. I probably always will. I think the most important thing is to make sure the stuff doesn’t take over the food in your diet. As long as the majority of what you eat is food, a little stuff here and there isn’t too bad.

  2. I eat mostly fruits, veggies, nuts, and lean proteins, but I do make room for other foods as well. Part of the fun of defining a new and healthier way of living was identifying and creating new versions of old favorites. I either limit the less nutrititious ingredients or find an alternative that provides a similar flavor.

    • And it’s amazing how much stuff you can turn into food if you try. (ie: finding food that is similar in taste/texture/etc to stuff. Like raw “cheesecake”!) It’s a bit of a challenge, but a rewarding one when you figure it out.

      One of the quotes in the forum post was “People who want to feel good don’t eat things that make them feel bad”. It’s crazy to think how many people go on eating things that make them feel bad when there are so many options that would make them feel good!

      I think if most people made sure even HALF of what they ate was food and not stuff, they’d already be making huge steps to improved health.

  3. Brilliant post!! Such an important question to ask. I’m sure you’ve inspired a few people to put down the junk and pick up something real and life preserving
    And for the record I eat FOOD!

    • Thank you!
      When I read that forum post it just all made so much sense and just “clicked”. It’s so, so simple but something I hadn’t really thought much about before. Why on earth would you fill yourself with stuff when you can nourish yourself with food?

  4. Jos

    Nice post, Danielle! I love to eat lots of FOOD, that being said unlimited fresh veggies and fruits, some lean protein, dairy, and whole grains ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. This reminds me of that expression “eat to live don’t live to eat.”

    • Definitely.
      With all the delicious options out there, it’s sometimes hard to remember that food is here to nourish us and help us survive (and thrive!) not just to indulge our sweet tooth and salt cravings.

  6. This is Brilliant!!! I have to share this with quite a few people I know. It’s so true.
    I have mixed feelings about a raw diet, however. It’s funny because I was just thinking today about doing my own post about my experience with raw food and what I learned from it. Bottom line, I’ve seen it work miracles and I’ve seen people get really “unwell” from it.
    Again, this is an important post. Thank you.

    • I’m glad you got a lot from this post! It certainly was a sort of “a ha!” moment for me. It seems simple, but the idea of judging what you eat based on whether or not it is actually food is such a great concept.
      I don’t think I could ever go completely raw. I like steamed broccoli. I like granola and natural yoghurt. I like chicken. (Clearly, if even becoming vegetarian would be hard for me, raw would be almost impossible!) I do, however, like the idea of incorporating MORE raw food into my diet. I’m not going to deny myself something healthy that I want to eat just because it doesn’t fit the “raw” label!

Leave a Reply

