Happy birthday to me!

This is going to be a short post, but I just had to rave about my amazingly sweet, ridiculously thoughtful, absolutely wonderful boyfriend who got me quite possibly the best birthday present I’ve ever received in my 27 birthdays…

He bought my mom a return trip to spend November in New Zealand!

My mom and I are super close and one of the hardest parts about living on the other side of the world is that I miss her and wish I could show her what a great life I have out here. She was downsized about a month ago and at 55 with only a high school diploma and a couple college courses, she’s having a really hard time finding a new job. She has been talking about coming to visit me since I moved here last year but money has always been an issue – now even more so without a job.

So you can imagine how absolutely floored I was when I followed the little “find your present” clues around my apartment and ended up finding a note saying my mom was going to be here from November 4-30.

I’ve been crying on and off all morning as I’ve been telling people about the gift. It is the most thoughtful, sweet, loving and just flat-out incredible present I’ve ever received and I’m still – 6 hours later – almost in shock that someone would do something like that for me.

Needless to say, I’m having an absolutely amazing birthday and it’s just the start to what I’m sure will be an incredible year. And the little steps I’ve taken in the past few months to improve my health and body will be put to good use as my world’s-best-boyfriend, friends and I head out to enjoy a sunny, 18*c day out at the beach!

Hope you all have a wonderful weekend!

14 Comments

Filed under Life

14 responses to “Happy birthday to me!

  1. How lucky are you:) Happy birthday!

  2. holy – you have a great boyfriend, alright!!! do not let that man get away! 🙂

    happy birthday!!!!! whatcha doing to celebrate?

    and thank you SOOO MUCH for your suggestions for my trip! needless to say, i’m pretty stoked. the more i read my Lonely Planet guide, the more i can’t wait!

    • I’m not letting him go anywhere! (And he’s certainly earned himself at least a couple “get outta jail free” cards for this one!)
      Am going to probably have a quiet night of TV/movies and wine with the bf tonight and then tomorrow is celebrating with friends – a day spent at the beach and then dinner and drinks in town. Also did a nice sushi lunch out with some coworkers and had an amazing Kahlua cheesecake at the office.

      You’re very welcome! It’s funny, now I’m getting super excited about possibly visiting those places in the south island soon, too, with my mom. I didn’t think I was going to have a chance to get down there this year but mom’s visit is definitely a great excuse. 🙂 I’m sure you’ll have an amazing time! The south island is one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been. (Oh, but HUGE tip: Never pass a gas station if your tank is half-full or less. You can go literally hours between stations in the more rural parts of the south!)

  3. Happy Birthday Danielle. Sounds like it is going to be a good one. Congrats too on your success with your healthy lifestyle changes.
    Have a fantastic day!
    Mon

    • Thank you! Was a wonderful day – and weekend, at that. I enjoyed it but am looking forward to getting back into my routine. I definitely overindulged on some cheesecake and other treats. My body’s not used to that stuff anymore! Mini-detox today to get back to normal. 🙂

  4. That is a good man! Happy Birthday. I’m so happy for you and your mom. I can’t imagine being that far away from my own mom, even at my age (45). Moms rule!

    • I always knew he was a really great guy, but this just proves it even more.
      One of the hardest things about living here is being so far away from my mom. We email lots and try to catch up on Skype once every week or two, so it isn’t too bad, but I definitely miss her and am beyond excited to have her visit. 🙂 She’s awesome.

  5. Happy belated birthday!!!!!!!!!!!!! And what an amazing present. Hope you’ve had a great birthday weekend xxx

    • Thank you! 🙂
      The present made my year – and both my actual birthday and the weekend were lovely. The weather was finally sunny and warm and spent lots of time with my boyfriend and close friends. I really couldn’t have asked for anything more.

  6. Jos

    Happy birthday, Danielle 🙂 and like others said, you have an AMAZING and thoughtful bf! He’s such a keeper!! Hope you have a wonderful b’day celebration. Simple is always good

  7. Awww SWEETIE! Happy birthday and what a fantastic present! Hang on to that one! He’s a keeper! x

    • Thank you!
      It really is the best present I’ve ever been given, in every respect. So sweet and thoughtful and generous and just amazing.
      He’s far and away the best guy I’ve ever dated. I’m not letting him get away if I have any say in it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

