Oomff!

First of all – thank you SO much for all the lovely birthday wishes! I was certainly more than spoiled with my presents this year. The bf earned MAJOR points, obviously, and just further secured his position of “best boyfriend of all time”. (Not like he ever had much competition!) I’m slowly trying to detox and get back to feeling normal after some slight over indulgences, including polishing off about 1/2 a Kahlua cheesecake in the course of 2 days. I’m hoping a couple days of conscientious eating and exercise will help me get right back on track. And, of course, that includes lots of oomff!

What is oomff? Oomff is “one of my favourite foods”. But not just any old “mmm, that’s yummy!” foods. Oomff needs to live up to its name, too. To be oomff, it has to be delicious, nutritious, energy boosting and generally make me feel good after eating it. And, of course, it has to be food.

I’ve added a few new things to the oomff category recently. The current “omg why did I not know about this recipe years ago!?!” is raw brownie batter. It’s packed with all sorts of things your body needs to function at optimal levels. Oh, and it actually tastes like homemade, delicious, “oh so bad for you but oh so yummy” regular brownie batter.

Raw Brownie Batter
(adapted from Megan atΒ Healthy Hoggin)
2 tbsp almond butter
2 tsp coconut oil
1 tsp cocoa powder
1/2 tbsp agave nectar
a few drops of vanilla extract
a pinch of salt.

Put everything in a bowl. Mix well. Eat.

This is TO DIE FOR. It feels like you are mega cheating on any sort of healthy diet you may be on. It’s sweet and chocolatey and nutty and amazing. But, unlike the traditional stuff, this is made with ingredients your body can easily digest and won’t cause sugar spikes or crashes.

It should be noted that this is an incredibly calorie-dense treat. Don’t go eating this by the bowl-full daily and expecting weight to magically drop off you because you’re eating “raw” and “vegan” dessert. Both the almond butter and the coconut oil are high in calories and in fat. They are both really good for you, but keep in mind that moderation is the key to getting the benefits without the downsides. (Like added pounds!)

 

Another oomff? Choco energy balls. I don’t have a recipe for this one as I just started throwing things in my food processor and adjusting as I went along. But I brought them into work (mainly so I wouldn’t eat them all myself in one day) and everyone loved them, with a few people asking for the recipe… so I’m going to make another batch, measuring and noting the ingredients this time. I’ll post it up here – with photos – when I’m done.

The basics, though: dates, cashews, coconut, sesame seeds, cocoa powder, agave nectar. All put through the food processor for a few minutes, then rolled into balls and dehydrated in the oven for a couple hours. They are SO yummy! And addictive. I ate 6 for breakfast the morning after I made them. (Hence the bulk of the rest getting brought along to work!) Can’t wait to share the recipe with you guys and see what you think!

 

How was your week? Have you recently discovered any new oomff? Anyone fall off the “good eating” wagon like I did recently? Are you getting right back on track or finding it a little hard?

9 Comments

Filed under Diet, Recipes

9 responses to “Oomff!

  1. You have to let me know when you post that recipe because it sounds great! I’ll probably try the brownie batter too. Sounds delicious. Check out my recipe this coming saturday for a chocolate treat (gluten-free, of course) that I make with ground flaxseeds.

    Happy b-day, albeit late. Going through a little thing lately. Hmmmm…. kahlua cheesecake …. YUM! Vee at http://veegettinghealthy.blogspot.com

    • Will do!
      It went over a treat at the office – which includes as many “I eat McDonalds once a week!” people as “vegan/vegetarian/dairy-free/health conscious” people. The brownie batter is amazing and a total guilty pleasure without the guilt treat. Looking forward to your gluten-free chocolate treat recipe!

      And thank you! Was lovely if not a little over indulgent. haha. Hope the little thing goes away soon and you can get back to life as you like it. πŸ™‚

  2. Great recipe!! I think I even have all those ingredients. I really need those kinds of things for my daughter.
    Thanks!

  3. Sounds too yummy! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

    • You’re welcome. πŸ™‚
      It’s ridiculously good. I had some again last night and the entire time I was just thinking “I *really* shouldn’t be eating this… wait, yes I should! Mmmmmmm.”

  4. I’m late to the party, so I’ll offer you belated happy birthday wishes! BF’s gift was amazingly sweet, almost as sweet as that brownie batter. πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: Cashew chocoballs « The journey to get fit and fit in

Leave a Reply

